As long as I can remember I found falling funny, whether I was the victim or not…the sight of an individual trying with all there might to keep there balance and prevent the inevitable…makes it even funnier…

 

Now, I have watched falls so much that I have broken it down in a sequence which occurs in three to four steps..

1st stage is the “Ooo.” This part is usually the time the brain become aware that body is not doing what it’s told and is going to hurt itself…this occurs without warning and often for me it was when I was trying to make a smooth move while courting (i.e. falling down a hill while walking, tripping over my shoelaces while walking) Now occurs when I trying too hard to achieve something or too sleepy and not paying attention. This part is easily recognized by the facial expression of the individual falling and often occurs in slow motion…the expression gradually go from normal to concern to pain

 

2nd stage is the “Ahhh” which is when the body realizes gravity is “Duh, Winning!” But it is trying to regain control to prevent pain…sometime the body wins’ but majority of the time gravity overcomes…this part of the fall is identified by on lookers as the part when the body begins it’s decent…whether this be forward, backwards, or sideways…often during this time, a self aware individual can make an attempt to prevent the fall from hurting…I seen the fall become a chance to show off their athleticism by doing push ups, martial artist back flip kicks, or a chance to show off break dancing skills….but if recovery is not gained it leads to stage three

 

3rd stage, Silence occurs…this is due to the body adjusting (if it can) to the position it’s in and also requesting assistance it needed…this stage is noticed because by now, people have surround the victim of gravity and waiting permission to laugh (silence)…this isn’t usually given my the victim and usually some stranger gives it…but laughter is contagious and once one start…the other soon follow…

 

The 4th stage  is the Recovery. Now this stage occurs if death or pride don’t get in the way…If pride gets in the way the body remains in the awkward painful position…But pride doesn’t get in the way…the onlookers usually offer help and assist with this recovery whether this be physically-giving a hand to help, mentally-calling for additional assistance if the body is broken, or morally by asking and reassuring the body that it was not as bad and things will be better…

 

One classic fall I remember, happened when I was a young doughnut…I was attending a church event and one of the elders of the church was making her way back to her car after a long day of worshiping and praising…for some reason, I don’t know why…but I guess I needed a laugh because…as the lady reached for the car door handle, she missed and fell forward…but it occurred what appeared in slowly motion cause the on lookers were able to see the development of concern slowly creep onto her face…then a look of despair, as she realized that she was not able to maintain balance and pain, as her face struck the car door….now her hitting her face was the “Oooo” part of the fall…this was quickly followed by a “Ahhh” moment.. when she some how was able to pull back up, but it was like some kid crouching on fours behind her and child in front of her pushing…cause she admittedly, tumble backwards…this also occurred in slow motion as her old feeble legs gave way and flew up revealing granny knee-highs and all…she then landed with a loud thud…and the “silent” part of the fall occurred…all was quiet for a few seconds while the member ran to assisted her….but not me…I turned and held my stomach….as the build up of laughter was so strong it was hurting…I couldn’t contain it anymore and I released…tears in  my eyes as I laughed and laughed…pointing in the directions she was…I know this was wrong….and be sure I paid for this later…but it was so hilarious….I kept replaying the incident in my mind and rewinding it like a blooper reel…which made it worse…Now the lady was no more hurt than my butt after I was caught laughing but it still was and is funny to me

 

So do you find falling funny?

