I’m Cold mama”, I said while shivering next to her on the back porch…

It was cold…and no matter how hard she tried, the cotton pajamas were not enough to keep me warm on the chilly, winter, night…the sky was full and the stars were shining bright. She was cold too as I could tell, she shivered and drew me close to her…

He will let us in, he’s just upset,” she stated while trying to provide hope for what appeared to be a hopeless situation…

The wind blew and we both drew closer to each other….this was not the first time we have sat outside together….wondering, waiting ..for him…he had no idea what he was doing to me…to her…they say what don’t kill you, make you stronger, and to some extent I believe it to be true…but what I have learned is…it May not kill you, but I really can fuck with your mind…tear that shit right apart…causing misfiring, chemical leaks and all kinda bizarre stuff to happen…and the sad thing about it is that…this can occur at any age…

That night, the wind appeared to be a little colder, the pajamas a little thinner….and she was appeared to be a tired…tired of his craziness…tired of his lies…tired of his bad choices…and tired of living with them…Now with some people when they get tired just want to roll over and sleep…not to be bothered, while others choose to do nothing when tiredness occur…But not her…she took the tiredness and dug deep within…she was gonna make this stop…No one was going to get her way…No one would stop her from getting out of the hell hole she was in….

I watched her stand up…”Get up boy”, she reached for my hand…I took hers and followed her…The wind still blowing, but this time it was against our backs…A chill crawled down my spine…causing me to draw closer to her as we walked…

Where we going Mama,” I asked…

We’re getting out of this cold, son“, she replied ” Can’t have you catching cold and We’re not waiting on him anymore. If he want us he will have to find us“…

Not knowing where she would go next, I followed her…Why not? she was my Mama…

We walked for a while, then she approached a house, knocked on the door… and she spoke with the lady…”Why sure you can come in, get out of the cold, he know better than that“…

Go sit down,” I was instructed to do…I found a nice comfy warm spot and sat down…the house was warm, so warm…”I remember being here before“, I thought…”Yes,” yawn…”this was”…yawn….I was tired…so tired..

Wake up!…Wake Up Boy!,”  it was a familiar voice, and a familiar face…I yawned and stood up…”Yes , Mama..” I looked around and saw my familiar things, my bed, my toys, my stuff…”How I get here,”  I thought to myself…

She was smiling, “Get dressed time for school“…

Ah! school,”  I thought to myself…”the one place I could be safe, safe from him”“That is true,”  I faintly heard…someone say…I looked around and did not see anyone,

“Ok!?”…I quickly got dressed, ate breakfast and headed to school….

Now did she remove me from that situation, nope, she remained there for several more years…producing more offspring, Why? I don’t know, but I do know that we never sat outside in the cold anymore…So whatever snapped in her mind…he must have recognized it

